• Meme Mail
  • Posts
  • You wouldn’t last an hour in the asylum that they raised me

You wouldn’t last an hour in the asylum that they raised me

Capitalize on the current thing

Sup memelords,

Remember Hurricane Ian, Wordle, and NFTs?

Neither did I until I was reminded by this post (okay, maybe NFTs are permanently burned into my memory, but you get the point).

Most macro trends take over the collective psyche for about 2 or 3 weeks, and then quickly fade out.

The “current thing” seems to have a lifecycle of about half a month, before it quickly gets taken over by the next “current thing”. As memers, we have to ask ourselves how we’re working with this dynamic, not against it.

Is your voice timeless? In other words, does your meme account continue to thrive despite the comings and goings of the new trends? You’ll see some accounts completely attach themselves to a trend, only for their account to die when that trend dies out.

But great memers transcend the current thing; they “capitalize on the current thing”, but they aren’t defined by it.

Anyway, here are a few of my favorite memes from the week:

Charlie’s Memes of the Week

This one is a 3 part saga. Check out the original post:

Then Tate’s reply:

And Altcoin Gordon’s selective cropping 😂

My favorite use of this Bourdain meme format that was going around this week:

My self confidence is shattered after losing 17 followers, so I made it into a meme:

Jason’s Memes of the Week

“Give me cheeseballs or give me death”

Cheeseballman427

Imagine if a journalist was on crack and that crack was memes.

That would be me.

Saturday night before I went to bed, I wrote a quick BREAKING story that blew up the internet. Notice my usage of the word “BREAKING” (it’s a common thing journalists do so I proudly reappropriated their culture).

At the time, I had noticed that Cheeseballman427 was blowing up in the NYC Instagram world, but hadn’t made it over to Twitter yet. So I arbitraged on that ASAP, wrote a quick post in 10 minutes, and went to bed.

You gotta always capitalize on the current thing — and the current thing at that moment was cheeseballs.

My other favorite meme this week was the “You wouldn’t last an hour in the asylum that they raised me” copypasta that was passed around.

Idk how it started, but it doesn’t matter, don’t ask questions, capitalize on the current thing, and remix your own version of it.

Here’s how I did it:

But I was then topped by Monica Lewinsky (just like Bill Clinton!)

Cheers to another insane week on the internet.

Remember, if you see a meme or phrase or whatever trending on your timeline, capitalize on it and remix it. Tailor it to your own voice and your brand. Remember it’s not stealing, it’s remixing.

All’s fair in love and memes.